Get started with blogging on Hashnode

Get started with blogging on Hashnode

My top five reasons

I always see blogging as a nice way to communicate ideas to others. Yet, I never had the courage to get started because I was not confident at all. Many events as well as awesome people helped me to get to where I am today.

In fact, I'm still in the learning process to be a great technical writer.

In this article, I will share my experience about blogging on Hashnode 's platform. More importantly, I will highlight the top 5 reasons why I keep editing and publishing articles on that platform.

How it all started

Approximately a year ago, as a part of the She Code Africa mentoring program cohort 2 (Python Mentee), we were asked to write an article to describe the journey in the program so far.

We were given directives and it was compulsory for us to create an article on our personal blogs. And, as I never held a blog before, I had been redirected on Hashnode. That's where I come to hear about Hashnode for the very first time. The necessary guide had been provided and I created my first blog on Hashnode.

image.png

That's how I ended up here.

After my graduation from the SCA mentoring program, I keep publishing articles on Hashnode.

image.png

This is not a promotional article, specific to Hashnode's platform as I have been introduced to this platform and since, I really appreciate it. Geniunely, there is a mighty community behind Hashnode, distinctive and amazing people always ready to share valuable knowledge and offer help whenever you get stuck on something. Moreover, Hashnode's platform is very intuitive, flexible and easy-to-use for anybody who just start with blogging.

Here are the top 5 reasons why I keep writing on Hashnode.

5 - Writing is a great form of communication

We are all aware that writing is among the different forms of communication. While writing, you express yourself in a way. You give your opinions, your understanding of a subject. When you write, you express your ideas. Writing is the opportunity you give to a reader to learn about how you think and see things.

4- Writing can help to get a job in tech

While this is not compulsory, writing can be required for some tech jobs. The recruiters can add it to their job proposals and mention that the candidate who is good at writing can be a good fit for the job. So, writing can lead you to get a job in the tech field, as a developer, or a technical engineer.

At least, you will be asked to write reports on bugs and summarize how you did a project. You may also be required to write a user manual if you develop a web or mobile application for instance.

3- Writing enables to use your critical thinking skills

Of course, yes ! When you actually write on your blog, you may not notice it, but you make use of your critical thinking skills. You think twice before writing a sentence, then a paragraph and then the whole article.

Especially if it comes to a technical article, you take time to think about the process and you even ask yourself how you can improve this or, even better, how you'll feel reading what you wrote if you were the reader.

2- Writing gives the opportunity to share a technical knowledge

Give back to the tech community...this is the reason I like the most and that makes much sense to me. When you publish a technical article on your blog, you share knowledge. Not only you share knowledge with readers but you also create a reference for yourself and you can still come back to your article whenever you get stuck on something you wrote about.

So, through writing, you get an audience because you share something that is valuable for them. You share a matchless knowledge that can be useful for them and maybe it is something they were waiting for. And knowledge is power, as you know.

1- Writing on a daily basis can build discipline

Discipline! You read well. If you write on a daily basis, it can help you to build a strong discipline. Writing and publishing articles can make you stay focused on your goals.

In summary,

Let's say I'm still a learner and keep writing and publishing on Hashnode will help me to strengthen my skills, or get a job someday. In fact...who knows ?

I hope you enjoyed reading this article and that you are inspired to start your journey in tech blogging !! Feel free to share your thoughts and suggestions in the comments section.

Follow my blog for more content and let's connect on social media here.

Keep shining and love yourself ๐Ÿ’•

Recommendations

If you are a beginner and want to know more about how to get started with blogging on Hashnode's platform, here are some awesome and insightful resources to read:

Cover Photo : By me