Challenges encountered in my tech journey

Challenges encountered in my tech journey

As I started my journey in tech, I had no idea of what could be the challenges that will come on my way. For me, it takes only had work and determination to succeed in tech. But I was totally wrong because there is more to that and I was not aware of it.

It goes without saying that in everything we put our head, in every project, journey we engage ourselves, we will face some difficulties at a certain time. As far as I'm concerned, my tech journey was full of challenges and till today, I'm still struggling with them.

image.png

In this article, I will share the challenges I mostly faced during my tech journey and also how I overcome them. But before, I want to point out the fact that listening to other people in tech telling their stories, helps me a lot to understand that failures, difficulties or challenges are just a part of the normal way.

The lack of experienced people

It may sound weird but it is true. I didn't have a person, a man or a woman who has, at that time the expertise needed to lend me a hand. Someone like a mentor, who can guide me throughout my journey, or at least the beginning of my journey.

image.png

At a given moment, I found some elders in the university I went, but this doesn't work as expected. They didn't talk about their failures or how they faced them. Thus, I was facing a lot of challenges but didn't know they were actually challenges. It was so confusing for me !

Inadequate access to materials

Being in tech without having a computer is definitely complicated, especially for a beginner. When I started my journey in tech, It took me some months to have my first laptop. But guess what ? It was beautiful but super slow.

image.png

Not for the simple stuff, but if it come to Android Studio or Visual Studio Code, It is terrible. And I used to submit my projects late. Later on, my searches prove me that my RAM and the frequency of my laptop were very low. The next time I purchased a computer (the second one), I paid attention to every single detail.

My personal caracter

Yes, my personal appearance was a challenge for me and I will explain how this is possible. In fact, I was a very shy girl. I mean, totally shy. My mates used to laugh at people and this worsened things. My problem was that I didn't want to make mistakes in front of others. And that attitude prevented me from interacting with others.

image.png

Frankly speaking, I really lose a lot and when I think about it today, it makes me very angry. Progressively, I learn that it was not great to behave like that and I started working on myself. I make the first steps, I connect with people and share a lot with them.

Lack of real information about communities

I was in my first year at university and nobody to tell me how I can search for tech communities. Finally, I tried myself to find some information about tech communities in my area and how to join them as a participant or as a volunteer.

And trust me, It was difficult. Either the community is no more active or it is not as serious as it should be. The first community I registered to was an online community of geeks. They were no black and they were all english native speakers but I am a francophon. Could you imagine ? Of course yes!

image.png

It took me a long time to discover the Women TechMakers and the Google Developers Group communities. Today, I belong to many communities, in tech or not and I'm very proud of that progress.

Imposter syndrome

I really hope that this happens to everybody. The most important here is the courage to overcome it. At some time in my tech career, I was totally convinced that I couldn't make it. Everything became confused in my head and the solution was to Just Give Up.

This is not a joke but the imposter syndrome can make you feel like you are nothing. I lose confidence on who I am and what I am able to achieve. Even on my skills, interpersonal or coding, I doubt.

image.png

This is something that can happen to you at anytime of your career and you have to be aware and prevent it. Social media like youtube and twitter helped me a lot to go through this.

To put in a nutshell, it was not easy to be where I am now. Every single day, I still fight to become a better version of ME. Can I even write down all the challenges I faced ? I'm not sure but I highlight those who marked me and also pushed me to be who I am today.