SCA Cohort2 : My first month’s journey

SCA Cohort2 : My first month’s journey

She Code Africa is a non profit organization focused on celebrating and empowering girls and women in tech across Africa. I learnt about She Code Africa program on Twitter one day and I found it very powerful and interesting. I promise myself to apply next time.

Fortunately, my application process was approved and on the 29th of May, 2020, I got the good news that I was going to be a mentee in the Python track of She Code Africa cohort2 Program.

sca.png

As every new mentee, I was assigned to a mentor. His name is Owolabi Oluwarotimi. A geniune, powerful and always available mentor who has helped me in getting started with Python programming language.

The first month has been very interesting and funny. I didn’t know anything about Python but as I was joining weekly video calls, I really learnt a lot.

  • We briefly go through what it takes to write a Python program
  • The mentor taught us how to set up environment variables and how to start with python scripts
  • He has helped us making a difference between the shell and the python interpreter
  • We saw with him variables and how they can be used
  • If Statement and differents types of loop structures have been studied too
  • In the same month, we talked about Object Oriented Programming where I understood more the concepts of encapsulation, inheritance, overriding methods, classes, …

When facing difficulties, some mentees dropped their concerns in our communication channel and then mentor/even other mentees gave explanation. This has helped a lot as I learnt from their experience and I try not to do the same error as they did.

So far, one month into She Code Africa Program has been enlightening and I have learnt a lot. There’s still two more months which I know I will learn better things. On this second month, I will be learning about Django programming and being able to design functionnal web apps with that framework.

Special thank to my mentor and all the mentees who has helped me when I encounter challenges. I hope I’ll enjoy the coming days of this beautiful journey.

Thank You for reading !!!