She Code Africa Mentorship Program Cohort 2: My second month as a mentee

She Code Africa Mentorship Program Cohort 2: My second month as a mentee

In this article, I will be writing about my second month as a mentee in She Code Africa Mentorship Program Cohort 2. Especially what I have learned so far from my journey at SCA.

One month ago, the program started and we were all assigned to mentors according to our tracks.

I was selected for the Python track and during the first month, we learned some concepts like:

  • Installing Python

  • Adding Python to path

  • OOP concepts such as classes, object, encapsulation, inheritance, functions, data hiding, ...

  • Data Structures like dictionaries, tuples, lists, ...

  • Packages

Then, our mentor introduced Web Development with Django Framework to us.

So during the second month, we were taught how to install Django Framework for web development as well as databases and data models.

django.png

I've created my first Django project and that makes me so happy. Learning Django was a great opportunity for me because I've always been interested in developing web applications using Python.

A special thanks to my mentor Owolabi Oluwarotimi who gives me a better understanding of Python basic concepts, a good use of command line and how things work when it comes to web development with Django.

I would not end this article without a big thank to a special mentee and friend Ruth Ikegah who has accepted to help me whenever I encountered difficulties in my training. She taught me a lot and I'm really grateful for that.

For the next time, I will be writing another article on how to install Python on a machine.

Thanks for reading...