Why and how I started my journey in technology ?

Why and how I started my journey in technology ?

Everything starts with a first step. If you are good at something, there is no doubt that you start from somewhere. Anyway, it doesn't matter where you start from but the most important is where you end up.

Nevertheless, the first step is a golden one and can change everything. I'm a woman in technology, an aspiring data scientist. Throughout this article, I will explain the reasons why I get into technology and how it all started.

image.png

Introduction

Did I really have reasons for getting in technology ? I don't think so. At the beginning, I wanted to be an accountant. After my high school diploma, I registered at the faculty of economics. At the same time, I applied for a national scholarship in computer engineering, organized by the government. I know that computer engineering is a field for the future and helps in real-life problem solving. I didn't know more about it.

image.png

Opportunity

I have already started courses at the faculty of economics when I got the news that I was selected to be a scholar for a 3-year program in computer engineering. Personally, that's where everything started. It was an opportunity that I seized and I think that my life has changed since. So I am now a student in computer science but I didn't give up my studies in accountancy. The truth is that I ended up with a bachelor degree in two majors : software engineering and accountancy.

image.png

True facts

As I said, I didn't really know what computer science is about and especially what is done with all those skills that are taught to students. At the high school, I used to feel good with mathematics (linear algebra, statistics, probability...) so I didn't have too much difficulties to understand the first courses.

As we moved forward and things became more and more complex, we started courses on algorithms, programming in C++, networks, databases administration, Linux Command Lines and many others. To be honest, I found it very interesting and sharpened my understanding in each subject.

To sum up I have a keen interest for many tech tracks such as front-end development, database administration and mobile app development.

Communities power

I had the opportunity to join the Women Tech Makers community as a trainer and event organizer to help more girls and women in tech to play active role in their communities. I have built sustainable relationships with people and worked with some organisations as volunteer. Not only my work focused on tech but also on girl’s education, digital training for youth, gender-based violence, ecology and internet governance.

If I emphasize on communities power, it is because they help me to build some useful skills. Moreover, I have recently joined the SCA mentorship program cohort 2 and this opportunity connects me to a large number of amazing women in tech that share their experience.

image.png

Conclusion

My journey in technology is very far from the end. I'm convinced that there's a lot for me to learn and also that people are waiting to learn from me. To me, it is just marvelous to be in tech especially when you are a woman.