My third month as a "She Code Africa Mentorship Program Cohort 2" Mentee

My third month as a "She Code Africa Mentorship Program Cohort 2" Mentee

coversca.jpg August's month marked the end of the second cohort of the She Code Africa mentorship program. In this article, I will outline the great moments that I have lived, the successes as well as the failures.

As I mentioned in my post on the second month of my program, we worked with the Django framework. From installation to setting up an application, we have learned a lot. Especially in terms of command lines for those who were not too used to like me.

Among other things that our mentor taught us, I can list :

  • What tools to install before having Django on your laptop?

  • How to install these tools?

  • How to install the Django framework on a Windows machine?

  • How to create a Django project and how to navigate it?

In addition, we have retained that with the Django framework, each page of your application represents an application that must be created in the project. Really interesting this concept!

Over the past three months we have all learned at our own pace. And we didn't all have the same rhythms. While others struggled to figure out how to handle environment variables, others were busy building their first applications with Django.

The pace didn't matter at first; we all knew we were there to learn. We were convinced that we would finish this program with one more skill in our pocket. But, there was a but. To obtain the certificate of participation, the proof that we had completed the program, we basically needed two things:

  • Write an article on a technical topic and publish it on a platform / Give a technical talk on a chosen subject ;

  • Make a mini-project of our choice with Django.

Whatever the learning pace is at the beginning, you really had to shake yourself up to be able to submit your work before the deadline. I particularly did what I could. I wrote my article and sent the link as requested. Here's what I wrote : acma.hashnode.dev/how-to-install-python-fro..

What about the application? Yes, the mini-project. You wonder if I submitted it ? The answer is yes. I did it. I encountered a lot of difficulties but I managed to do it. I didn't think I was capable of that and I want to say a big thank you to everyone who made this program a reality. Especially those who lend a hand !! Stay Blessed!

I finished the program with a lot of skills. I made new friends, I improved my language skills, I know what it costs to be a women in tech. In addition to technical skills, I also acquired soft skills and how to build resilience when facing some challenges in tech.

In three words, I made it and I'm very proud of my achievment. Three months of hard work ! Congratulations to all others cohort 2 mentees that graduated from this amazing program.

image.png

SCA marked me positively and I will undoubtedly share my knowledge with other young women eager to continue in the world of STEM.

image.png

Congratulations to the new recruits of cohort 3. I wish them much courage and especially to be determinated to stay in till the end.

Long live to SCA! Long live to women in STEM!

Thanks for reading !